Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Posts Tagged ‘Valentine’s Day’

Dear Friends:  Happy Valentine’s Week.  Like we did last year, we are doing an homage to iconic couples for Thursday’s show.  So, join host Silvio Canto Jr. and our official show historian, Barry Jacobsen, for an evening of romantic history (click here Thursday, Feb. 13 at 7 pm PST/9 pm CT/10 pm EST or for archived podcast).

We also encourage everyone to call into the show and add their own choices for “Icons of Love”.

Here is this year’s list:

Love Poets


Elizabeth Barrett and Robert Browning

Listener Choice

1) Queen Victoria and Prince Albert

2) Gloria and Emilio Estefan

3) Emperor Maximilian of Mexico and his Wife, Carlota

American History

1) Ronald and Nancy Reagan

2) Andrew and Rachel Jackson

3) John and Jackie Kennedy

The Arts

1) Frida Kahlo and Diego Rivera

2) Abelard and Heloise

Next year, we feature the sciences!

Read Full Post »

Dear Readers: I hope you had a great Valentine’s Day! The Young Prince gave me a couple of pieces of chocolate from his collection, and Horemheb sent a card from the Great Northern Outpost of Santa Barbara. I hope that Hathor, the Egyptian Goddess of Love and Beauty, smiled on you today as well.

Hat-tip: orderwhitemoon.org

A bit of a news update: Today, we welcome a new blogger into the San-Diego Local Order of Bloggers: Word Warrior.It is by Barry J., who co-posted with me about “Real Men“. His first piece on the blog (A Tale of Two Revolutions) is a great sampling of the amalgam of history, current events, and insight that makes Word Warrior a great addition to our band of agitators.

Barry also has a military history site: The Deadliest Blogger. Both sites will be going onto the blogroll.

Read Full Post »