Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Posts Tagged ‘Dengue’

Dear Readers: It is my privilege to join amazing talk show host Silvio Canto on Canto Talk this Thursday, Oct. 6th at 12 noon PST/2 pm CT/3 pm EST.  Click HERE for the show or the archived podcast afterward.

It will be my privilege to interview my friend and colleague Jacqueline Hardt, who works with me at the Environmental Health/Occupational Safety consulting firm, Zoubek Consulting.  She will be giving an extremely informative webinar for our firm, which will cover the history of the Zika virus’ spread, the health consequences of infection, the real risks associated with the disease, and how people can effectively protect themselves (especially since a vaccine is not  yet available).

aedes-aegypt

Zika is still spreading in Florida, and currently 115 locally acquired cases have been reported.  Perhaps the most disturbing development this week is the fact that a second case of locally acquired dengue ever has been reported in that state.

Dengue fever is a viral disease that is also spread chiefly by the  Aedes aegypti mosquito. The virus can cause flu-like symptoms and in rare cases can result in dangerous or deadly infections.  Hawaii declared a “Dengue Fever Emergency” earlier this year.

Happily, the outbreaks in Hawaii appear to be contained…at least for the time being.

Currently, vector control is the only practical way to prevent the disease. There is only one vaccine for dengue fever currently available, and the newly developed product has only been approved for use in Mexico, the Philippines, and Brazil.

Please join us for what will be a fascinating and informative show.

Please click HERE if you would like more information about Zoubek Consulting.

Save

Save

Read Full Post »